Highlight-Symbol
Highlight_Infotext
sehr geeignet
Highlight-Symbol
Highlight_Infotext
zertifiziert
Highlight-Symbol
Highlight_Infotext
projektorientiert
Highlight-Symbol
Highlight_Infotext
technisch

This course covers the basic mathematical principles of modern cryptographic techniques. Necessary basic mathematical knowledge of algebra, number theory, complexity theory, combinatorics and probability calculus will be expanded and supplemented during the course.

The online course is divided in two sections.

Essential areas of symmetric cryptography are treated in section 1. This includes in particular block and stream algorithms as well as hash functions. The course looks at the mathematical background as well as at the precise mathematical formulation. In contrast to the online course „Introduction to cryptography and data security – module 1" it also includes attacks (differential and linear crypto analysis) to algorithms in order to broaden understanding on this.

Section 2 deals with the most important asymmetric techniques. Another section looks at RSA algorithms and the subsequent mathematical topics like prime number tests and factoring of large numbers which is necessary for a better understanding. Further fields of application are techniques based on discrete logarithms and the analysis of current algorithms for the digital signature.

Referenten
Prof. Dr. Nils-Gregor Leander

Prof. Dr. Gregor Leander

Ruhr-University Bochum, Horst Görtz Institute for IT-Security

Workgroup for Symmetric Cryptography
Telefon: +49 (0)234 32 28402
gregor.leander(at)rub.de

Der Kurs behandelt die grundlegenden mathematischen Prinzipien moderner kryptographischer Verfahren. Die notwendigen mathematischen Grundkenntnisse der Algebra, Zahlentheorie, Komplexitätstheorie, Kombinatorik und Wahrscheinlichkeitsrechnung werden im Laufe des Kurses vertieft und ergänzt.

Der Online-Kurs gliedert sich in zwei Abschnitte: 

In Abschnitt 1 werden wesentliche Bereiche der symmetrischen Kryptographie behandelt. Dieser Abschnitt beinhaltet insbesondere Block- und Strom- Algorithmen, sowie Hashfunktionen. Bei der Darstellung wird stets auf den mathematischen Hintergrund bzw. die präzise mathematische Formulierung eingegangen. Im Unterschied zu dem Online-Kurs „Einführung in die Kryptographie und Datensicherheit – Modul 1“ werden hier auch Angriffe (differentielle und lineare Kryptoanalyse) auf die Algorithmen vorgestellt, um das Verständnis zu vertiefen. 

Der Abschnitt 2 befasst sich mit den wichtigsten asymmetrischen Verfahren. Ein wesentlicher Abschnitt befasst sich mit dem RSA Algorithmus und den sich anschließenden mathematischen Fragestellungen wie Primzahltests und Faktorisierung großer Zahlen, die zum vertieften Verständnis notwendig sind. Weitere Gebiete sind Verfahren die auf diskreten Logarithmen basieren, sowie die Analyse gängiger Algorithmen für die digitale Signatur.

Referenten
Prof. Dr. Nils-Gregor Leander

Prof. Dr. Gregor Leander

Ruhr-University Bochum, Horst Görtz Institute for IT-Security

Workgroup for Symmetric Cryptography
Telefon: +49 (0)234 32 28402
gregor.leander(at)rub.de